As I began adjusting to my second week at Towson, I noticed flyers and girls talking about PanHellenic Association. I honestly had no idea what it was, maybe a form of student council or club? I also remembering seeing something onFacebook about it as well!On my way to grab a quick bite at the Patuxent, my roommate grabbed my hand and pulled me outside. A fair was set up for Panhellenic Association. My roommate explained how it was an event promoting greek life on campus called “Meet The Greeks.” I was unsure if being apart of a sorority was for me, but I had nothing to loose, right?

Walking around I realized that greek life had taken over the Paws Patio. Every sorority and fraternity had tables set up with posters of their greek names, pictures, paddles, and any objects relevant to their sorority. Along with this, each group wore shirts that represented them and the Fall 2010 rush recruitment. Music was playing, hamburgers were grilling, and snacks and beverages were being served. Balloons were blowing in the wind, tons of people stopped to socialize, and greek life was fully prepared to promote aspects of their college experiences and what this whole world was about. Not to mention, it was a beautiful day.

Public Relation strategies were in full effect. PanHellenic had flyers floating around campus promoting this event for weeks using the communication technique. All of the food, music, and party favors were there to lure you in, making it seem like an enjoyable fair to attend. All of the sorority sisters and fraternity brothers gathered around talking to anyone who was interested in joining their chapters and PanHellenic organization as a whole. Propaganda was used to persuade myself and others who were hesitant about the stereotypes of greek life. They were strong in promoting themselves to be better than what you had seen in movies and were confident and convincing when persuading us to join and support there organization. From the sorority tables that I visited, pictures and paddles were used to represent the types of girls they were. The special event technique was also weaved into the public relations as well when each sorority advertised their philanthropies. For instance, Alpha Omicron Pi’s philanthropy was Arthritis Research Foundation and Cervical Cancer. Each organization was linking themselves with positive images and passion for what they help support. This made me want to be apart of such rewarding benefits while watching these girls speak so highly of their philanthropies.

By using various public relation techniques to promote not only Panhellenic Association but also every different sorority and fraternity offered at Towson University, I feel that all together the organization and chapters were successful. Although there were some sororities that persuaded my opinion and interested me more than others, each chapter did a respectable job. I believe the “Meet the Greek” fair was a success because it portrayed every aspect in promoting and holding an event the way it should be. Positive attitudes from the organization helped boost a hype towards joining, and creative methods were used to persuade the minds of potential sisters and brothers of greek life. While tons of information was filling my head, I was in a positive atmosphere. The key to a successful event is not only getting all the information of an organization out there, but also making it intriguing and fun for people to have the passion that you do.

Overall, this fair impacted my outlook and perspective on greek life. Not only did it change my behavior, but I ended up rushing and joining a chapter of PanHellenic Association. Along with myself, 599 other girls left the fair and came back the next night to rush for a sorority. Wouldn’t you also agree that this event was a success?

