My sophomore year of high school was when my interest of adoption started.  My beliefs in adopting children from other countries who are less fortunate and do not have families to support them are important to me. Therefore, one day I hope to adopt all of my children from all over the world.  No, I am not Angelina Jolie, but for two years, I researched and read about adoption. Learning all of the legal requirements and the amount of time it takes to adopt one child seemed hopeless. I felt like it could never really all happen. My senior year of high school, I read the novel Kite Runner by Khaled Hasseini for my summer reading book requirement. This fiction novel was such an inspiring book between the struggles of life in Afghanistan, Hassan’s rape, and legal adoption issues with Sohrab.  However, it was the adoption process that caught my attention and interest most.

After I completed the novel, my English teacher assigned a research paper on any topic relating to your summer reading book. I chose the legal rights and complications of adopting a child from Afghanistan. Overall, I learned that a US citizen cannot adopt from Afghanistan and that they can only be awarded guardianship. According to dictionary.com, guardianship is defined as “care; responsibility; charge.” Meanwhile, adoption is defined as, “to take and rear (the child of other parents) as one’s own child, specifically by a formal legal act.”  This is where Kite Runner impacted my choices.

Realizing this information, my body was filled with mixed emotions I was unbelievably shocked to read that this was even the case, and on the other hand I wanted nothing more but to change these legal laws. I wasn’t the only one who thought Kite Runner was inspirational and motivating. In this Book Review, Erin Miller says how the Kite Runner was one of the best books she has ever read!

I strongly believe things happen for a reason. I probably would have never read this novel, or researched if it wasn’t half of my final grade for the class. Learning about the legal rights a US citizen has adopting from Afghanistan, pushed me. Now, I will do whatever I can to change this law and become involved. Am I still hopeless? No, now I am optimistic. Children are suffering without families in other countries, while US citizens keep expanding theirs. Why keep
producing if there are so many innocent children in this world alone? Kite Runner gave me hope when Amir finally was able to adopt Sohrab. Amir saved a child’s life and made him smile. Seeing a child smile and knowing it was because I saved them, would be the most rewarding thing I could ever experience. This novel helped me realize not everything is easy, and you can’t get everything you want in life without a fight. Adopting in the near future is a passion and
determination of mine. If I wasn’t exposed to such a beautiful story, I may have still been “hopeless” and later given up.

Therefore, Kite Runner helped me understand the real reasons why adoption is such a difficult process, yet encouraged me to fight for what I believe in. This novel keeps me focused, and influences my choice to read other novels about people’s stories and there adoption processes. Other people’s stories no matter if it is told through a talk show, movie, or novel captures me. Not only does this happen because I want nothing more but to experience such a life changing moment, but because when I see other’s fighting for what they want, I know I am not alone in this battle. Despite the negativity with legal laws and interracial adoption, I know I was put on this earth to save someone through this process. Fortunately, Kite Runner helped me realize my lifelong goals were significant to not only the children, but to myself as well.

If you are interested in learning more about adoption, click here!

