Born in 1990, I was a princess myself. Growing up in the Disney era was a privilege and definitely a different experience to what children watch and see now. As I compare my Disney childhood to 2010’s Disney childhood, it is two completely different worlds. Disney is just another company that has conformed to society today and has forgotten about who they really are.

As I twirled around in my Cinderella and tiaras, I aspired to be as beautiful as Cinderella. I watched The Little Mermaid (1989), Beauty and the Beast (1991), Aladdin (1992), Pocahontas (1995) and every other innocent film they made. I admired these characters and thought life was nothing but princes, solutions, and perfection. Throughout my upbringing, I was tricked into thinking life was nothing but dreams that came true. Too bad, it was all a lie.

The story lines of my childhood Disney movies and the fake lives it portrayed does not upset me. In reality, all movies are spiced up to make you think the best things are possible, so why hate on Disney? My problem with Disney now is that they lost themselves. Disney has become something they are not, and for me it is upsetting. Disney like many other companies lost sight in what they created and have fell into society’s trends and different childhood expectations now. But, why would children want to have a different expectation of life other than being a prince or princess, right?

If you take the time to sit down and watch The Disney channel one of these days, you will be so shocked to see what children are watching now and how different it is compared to when you were watching Toy Story. “Hannah Montana” is a hit series for Disney, yet Miley Cyrus is the main character. Doesn’t that raise concern for parents allowing their children to watch this show? Didn’t they just see on a different channel her sex scandal pictures? I couldn’t imagine twirling around to aspire to be Miley Cyrus after everything she has shown doing in the tabloids. There is no innocence here at all. Below is a link about why Cindy Crawford won’t allow her own daughter to watch Hannah Montana! Is Hannah Montana Bad for Kids?

Honestly, Disney channel is one of my favorite networks. But, I am also twenty years old and have experienced my youth. So how is it that a six year old is enjoying something an eighteen year old is watching? Trust me, I am not the only college student addicted to Disney channel! This all boggles my mind. I know when I experienced my first Disney trip, I was surrounded by make believe characters. Imaginary girls, animals that talked, castles, horses, and royalty. It was literally a “magical world.” I can’t imagine visitng now and seeing young children getting autographs from Hilary Duff, Vanessa Hudgens, Zac Efron, the Sprouse twins, and Miley Cyrus. These are celebrities we read about everyday in tabloids. I know for a fact The Little Mermaid didn’t break out with a sex scandal growing up. I am also pretty sure The Little Mermaid wasn’t even a real human being. Do you see where I am going with this?

Society does not understand how childhood has changed so drastically over the years, but I have. Television and role models are a huge part of it all. If they see a Disney character in a magazine talking on a cellphone and drinking a Starbucks, they will want to too.

Overall, I am grateful for such a refreshing youth and innocent upbringing. Disney was one of the only corporations I never thought would conform to these issues, but over the years it has gotten worse and worse. Disney does not have that innocent reputation anymore and if changes aren’t made shortly, they will never have a good one back. So therefore, Disney get with the program and bring us back little girl and little boy’s hopes and dreams!

