Are you one of the 60% that stalks your ex boyfriend? Or maybe you are a part of the billion photos uploaded a month? Is your profile one of the 30 million profiles that show more than one status update a day? Nearly 70% of college students log on every day, are you one of them? I know you know exactly what I am talking about and I just caught you, red handed!

Facebook has become a worldwide addiction. People need more than one or two “Facebook fixes” a day and they communicate more on this social networking website than they do with people. Do not worry, I am not that innocent either. Every fact stated above, also includes me and my Facebook addiction. So don’t be embarrassed, we all stalk our ex’s one time or another right?

All of these statistics make me wonder, what is happening to our society’s communication skills and our youth? In 2009, Doug Fodeman and Marje Monroe came together to write The Impact of Facebook on Our Students. There major argument is whether or not students should be allowed to access Facebook while at school.

Throughout the article, Fodeman and Monroe state many different arguments within the major problem.  Fodeman and Monroe caught my attention when they stated, “We have concerns for children and teens today growing up in a world where they are wired 24/7 without a break. For many of our kids there is little or no “down time.” Some have difficulty disengaging from their social life.” This is an extremely unhealthy issue society is facing because of social networking. I know that I am on my computer in my bed until I nod off, just like most kids are as well. The article targeted at safety and privacy concerns, wasted time, Spyware or viruses installed because of free networking, children not having enough knowledge to know what they are really sacrificing themselves to, avoiding social conversations face-to-face, not building real relationships, and losing the definition of what “friend” really means.

I believe that this article is incredibly vital for people to read. It is an extremely informative article that brings up many factual arguments. I strongly agree with Fodeman and Monroe when they argue access on Facebook in school should not be allowed. Children in the seventh grade should not even own a Facebook, let alone be on the network in school.

Over the years, ages younger and younger are consuming this media and it is affecting communication skills starting at a young age.  I even find myself commenting on somebody’s wall instead of calling them, or even sitting through my entire class surfing everyone’s pages and my news feed. Children and teenagers should definitely not be getting in these habits so young.

I also agree with Fodeman and Monroe that Facebook being harmful to your friendly relationships.  Children and teens are learning to read critics blogs and harsh criticism that they feel it is okay for them to treat a friend that way. It is not okay. Teens are losing the meaning and value in what a friend really is and considering everyone there “friends” just because they are friends on Facebook.
Honestly, I think that this generation needs a serious wake up call. Consuming your life on Facebook is not a healthy lifestyle, especially at age thirteen! Facebook was created to keep in touch with friends at college and to meet people in a school where you know nobody. It was not created for children in elementary and middle school to post pictures of themselves for attention. The boundaries of Facebook have gotten out of control, yet we cannot control it. Therefore, as Fodeman and Monroe have preached, start doing something about these issues by at least blocking this site from school computers. I must admit, I was one of those students that sat in a lab in high school trying to access Facebook and got annoyed, but as I read this effective article and begin to think about the whole picture, my school helped me by doing this. Facebook addiction for all ages, especially children needs to subside, better yet end!

Want to find out if you are addicted to Facebook? Watch this video!

